GRI is a widely recognized framework for sustainability reporting that helps organizations report on their economic, environmental, and social impacts.

GRI Standards and Compliance Timeline

The Universal, Sector, and Topic Standards are the GRI's three main standards. The new Universal Standards, GRI 1, 2 and 3, officially replaced the previous standards beginning on January 1, 2023.

Any organization, large or small, public or private, from any sector or location, can use the GRI Standards.

Reporting requirements consist of the following steps:

  1. Understand system and key elements of the GRI Standards
  2. Apply reporting principles throughout the process
  3. Identify and assess impacts, and determine material topics
    • Understand the organization's context
    • Identify actual and potential impacts
    • Assess the significance of the impacts
    • Prioritize the most significant impacts for reporting
  4. Report relevant disclosures from:
    • Universal Standards
    • Sector Standards
    • Topic Standards
  5. Prepare GRI content index and statement of use
  6. Publish information and GRI content index
  7. Notify GRI

Who would GRI apply to?

GRI is voluntary, but some countries have introduced regulations or guidelines that require or encourage organizations to report on their sustainability performance using recognized frameworks such as the GRI Standards. One example entails the European Union (EU) Non-Financial Reporting Directive (NFRD). It requires large companies to disclose information on environmental, social, and governance (ESG) matters, and it recommends the use of recognized reporting frameworks such as the GRI Standards.

To whom and how to report: